Social Media, PR and Marketing with a Dash of Something Unique

If you are reading this post you are probably wondering: Why on earth do we need another blog dedicated to social media, marketing and PR? That’s a perfectly valid question, with a few different answers.

First and foremost, most of the people offering perspectives (I think we’ll see that term used often on this blog) on issues related to social media, PR and marketing come from a more traditional communications backgroun. They’ve either been in an agency or corporate setting for quite some time, or they are trying to enter one of those arenas. While I’ve been at Dix & Eaton for almost five years, I do not come to the table with a traditional communications background (my degrees and work history before joining the firm are in politics in case you were wondering). This diverse background should (I hope) offer me the opportunity to bring fresh perspectives (there it is again) to the communications questions of the day.

Second, just because we have a lot of blogs dedicated to social media, PR and marketing doesn’t mean we cannot have another trying to tackle the larger questions in our industry. The issues we are facing (particularly social media and PR) are so varying and complex that another point of view added to the discussion cannot hurt. What are some of those issues?

  • How do we establish true ROI for social media?
  • How do we (PR pros) obtain a seat at the table when most senior executives see us as “spinners?”
  • How do we work together toward common business goals and objectives?
  • Is there a place for agencies in social media (this might be the subject of a series of posts, by the way)?
  • How do we come up with communications solutions that solve business problems and not just a focus on getting “hits?”

You kind of see my point, right? These are issues that require a lot of dialogue among other professionals to come up with appropriate answers.

Finally, and perhaps most importantly, it is my hope that this blog (with your help, of course) offers up the opinion that helps us escape the “echo chamber.” Better yet, together we come up with solutions that help us demonstrate once and for all that communications can indeed help us solve business-related issues.

These are not easy tasks, to be sure, but I am in it for the long haul. Can I count on you joining the fight with me? Let’s get this party started!

6 responses to “Social Media, PR and Marketing with a Dash of Something Unique

  1. Chuck, I can’t wait to read what *perspectives* you offer. Congrats on the new blog! 🙂

  2. Thanks, Heather. I’m looking forward to doing it!

  3. Great couple posts so far. I like your aim to extend dialogue, and discuss some key questions in our field. I was in politics before as well (of the Canadian, federal variety). I still love it! Looking forward to following you here.

  4. Thanks, Bryna. I’m looking forward to it as well. My experience was at the national level as well (of the American variety). I’m with you…I love it still to this day.

  5. Hi Chuck! Congrats on this blog. I really like your perspectives and am looking forward to reading and contributing 🙂

Leave a Reply

